Posted by: philbentley | March 2, 2013

Migrating Music to Linux

I tried Banshee, but do not like the interface.  I tried Amarok, but again the interface sucks.  Next I tried Clementine.  Nice interface, sensible GUI.  The default install needs extra plugins to read some media files.  This is trivial, you just install the gstreamer plugins and ubuntu-restricted-extras as well:

sudo apt-get install gstreamer ubuntu-restricted-extras

Next, I have a nexus 7 and need to convert the apple file format to FLAC.  Converting the itunes music files without DRM is easy.  The linux program used to be called “FFmpeg” but it is now more appropriately named “avconv”.  Here is how to use get it and use it.  For the files I “bought” from apple that are also covered in DRM I will have to find another solution, but there are not that many of them since the DRM was dropped a long time ago for music.

I have not tried google play yet, since it is not available in Sweden, but I do not plan on putting any music in the cloud to be honest.  I would rather have control over my own files after being burned already by apple.


Leave a comment

Categories